I'm over Drupal

I’m over Drupal.

I realized I had been holding off from writing this post because it involves nearly all of my clients. One of them got hacked last week (the webserver, not Drupal). My assessment for moving forward included migrating to WordPress. It was silly to not have put this out there.

Anyhow, I’ve been working with Drupal for many years, since 4.7 (if that means something to you). A couple of weekends ago I realized that things I wanted Drupal to do back then have been incorporated, brought into core, and iterated until they work really well. The problem is that the snapshot of features I want is a moving target, partially informed by my interest, but largely based on how people use web software, on both the front- and back-end.

Things that Drupal does better than say, WordPress, is that in addition of being a content management system, it is a development platform. So, you get all these cool things like third-party integrations, sub-systems built on top of sub-systems, and other efforts to create products out of the various contributed modules. There are a few site ideas that I think Drupal would be decent for, despite my evolving opinion.

However, I’ve noticed that for the last two years all of my work has been taking the power of customizing content-types and views and trying to build something that resembles WordPress. I figured it was that because WordPress focuses on a much more narrow set of features, it could focus on design patterns that work really well. I am not sure that is the case anymore. It seems like leaving the UI and other basic design patterns up to the developer community (in the form of templates), Drupal couldn’t meet WordPress in the middle, and now it seems to me that WordPress is approaching the level of complexity and customization of Drupal.

This is disconcerting to me, because I’ve spent a lot of time learning the “Drupal way”. I’ve mentioned it before: