The New Deal, Or How I Learned to Stop Being Afraid and Just Blog

I’ve been splitting my personality for a couple of years. It started when I needed a site to run billing for clients, and I decided to create a nice looking URI and spin off a “business” site.

In my perpetual search for a handbook to life I’ve come across two patterns: the first is that I basically have to brute force my way through and write it myself, after the fact. The second pattern is that what I think I ought to do doesn’t actually pan out or make sense, as I learned by having a “business” site. Aside: my ability to write email well, and link to sites I’ve built, have always worked; maintaining a whole site for that purpose, not so much.

The next site I spun off was a “personal” site, which was basically a copy of this one, but established as the space where I would continue my journaling-type writing. Then I had two more sites planned, one for geeky, pop culture blogging, and then a technical journal, like so many software engineers have online.

But some stuff happened. As my friend Lisa says, I got a “jay o bee”, which certainly kept me busy since late 2014. That slowed my sharding, but just the two sites I got up were too much for me. First of all, my invoicing system was unreliable, and made me resent that site to the point where I subconsciously avoided it. And because a large part of my writing is about contemporary experiences and technology, I didn’t have anywhere to write. My head has been hurting for over 8 months!

I talked to over with Susan, and based on eir advice I relaunched this one site, with plans to focus on one site and grow out as needed (or I had the energy for). But then everyone that contacted me in comments or other channels about the relaunch were the technical, software-y slice of my tribe. That bugs me so much!