Honey and Coffee Better Than Oral Steroids for Persistent Cough

I have never tried coffee and honey together before, but I’m totally going to do it now. I also have a persistent cough.

1 Like

Just an update 3 weeks later. It annihilated my cough. I went from coughing every 1-2 minutes to nothing for ~4 hours. I did it for ~4 days and it really helped me heal quickly.

1 Like

Glad to hear it!

I see it mentions honey as being a healing ingredient forever, but was the coffee also a component? Could it be replaced with tea or herbal infusion?

Hmmm, maybe coffee is a component:

In 2011 Nosáľová et al identified an arabinogalactan-protein extract from instant coffee that does have an antitussive effect.10 There have been suggestions that coffee or the caffeine in it might act as a bronchodilator and so improve the cough. Yet, the small amount of caffeine used in these studies is probably not adequate to cause bronchodilation.11 [Author’s note: for readers who might ask whether decaffeinated coffee would work, we don’t know the answer yet as it is unclear whether the caffeine is essential for this mixture’s efficacy.]

Whatever the case, the combination of honey and coffee (see the recipe in the Appendix) appears to be more effective than either substance alone and is certainly worth a try for persistent cough.

Herbal tea and honey is still probably better than nothing for kids.

1 Like

When I used exactly what was described, the caffeine in that small amount of instant coffee is pretty small. If one of my kids coughs got really bad, I may try it.

I didn’t realize oral steroids were a thing, let alone used a lot:

One in five American adults in a commercially insured plan were given prescriptions for short term use of oral corticosteroids during a three year period, with an associated increased risk of adverse events.

I believe Prednisone is the one I’ve seen the most. I had to take it when I had a case of mono, to help combat my extremely sore throat.