Have Smartphones Destroyed a Generation?

A little click-baity title, but there is some good statistical data in the article. And I liked the spirit in which it was shared:

The aim of generational study, however, is not to succumb to nostalgia for the way things used to be; it’s to understand how they are now. Some generational changes are positive, some are negative, and many are both.

The answer is: yes; they are not tricorders. :slight_smile:

Thanks for sharing. @tim, which age do yer kids get devices?

Oh snap, for everyone: how old were you when you get a smartphone?!

I’ve been researching generational differences for 25 years, starting when I was a 22-year-old doctoral student in psychology. Typically, the characteristics that come to define a generation appear gradually, and along a continuum. Beliefs and behaviors that were already rising simply continue to do so. Millennials, for instance, are a highly individualistic generation, but individualism had been increasing since the Baby Boomers turned on, tuned in, and dropped out. I had grown accustomed to line graphs of trends that looked like modest hills and valleys. Then I began studying Athena’s generation.

Around 2012, I noticed abrupt shifts in teen behaviors and emotional states. The gentle slopes of the line graphs became steep mountains and sheer cliffs, and many of the distinctive characteristics of the Millennial generation began to disappear. In all my analyses of generational data—some reaching back to the 1930s—I had never seen anything like it.

1 Like

We let my parents get my two oldest kids a tablet each when they were 5 and 6, but the only thing it can do is ebooks.

As for actual communication devices… I am not sure. I have a gut feeling that 12 is a decent age to start wading in those waters with your parents as a guide, but I don’t really know. It really seems like the question is more: “When are kids ready to wade into the internet?”

@maiki what age are you thinking for your kiddo?