A new project

I like to announce things, because then I forget about them, or feel pressure to do them. So, here is my new project summary.

A website. GASP!

Specifically, a website that will live as part of the applications that make up my interi complex. The thing is, I pretty much want to put everything I know into a database. When you get information in tables, you can do all kinds of neat stuff with it. Sometimes I get paid to do these neat things, and during those times I do a lot of experimentation to figure out the best way to present the data. This is an extension of that experimentation, a fun way to document my methods and to try out new ideas.

This particular database and website combo will have a few things going for it, so I will list out the key points.

• Drupal 7 - D7 just went beta, which means it is good enough for me. I make my living by Drupal now, so to be cutting edge, and to take advantage of the new features, I am going to use it for this sub-site.
  • HTML5 - Whenever possible, I am going to use the latest features allowed from HTML5. That means using the video and audio elements, maybe a little canvas action. Additionally, I am not going out of my way to make it "back-compatible". This is a personal project, so IE9 users are not my target audience.
  • CSS3 - I am going to be a little bit more careful with this, but I am still going to push the envelope. Rounded corners aren't my cup of tea, but the multi-column features are pretty neat.
  • Visualization - I've had an increasing interest in data visualization (no doubt do to a certain sword-swallowing academic). Using the above technologies and standards, I want to do some creative work in this area.
  • Libre - I am on the fence as to whether I will license it under Share-Alike, or just Attribution, but of course everything I do is released under a Creative Commons license.